Connect with us


24-member Kano Assembly accepts reconciliation



The 24 aggrieved Kano House of Assembly members who earlier moved to impeach the Speaker, Yusuf Abdullahi Atta, have accepted reconciliation championed by the state Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje. But they said they accepted the conditions with with a major changes.


Speaking to reporters last night, the members under former Speaker Alhassan Rirum, said they were obedient members of APC and the government in power as such, they accepted to allow peace to reign in the legislative chambers.


However, the members said they were accepting the peace with changes that includes the Speaker Yusuf Atta continuing as Speaker but his deputy now is the former Speaker Alhassan Rirum and majority leader now Muhammad Bello Butu Butu. Other changes according to the members are Baffa Babba Danagundi now as the Chief Whip, while Sunusi Usman Batayya is to serve as deputy majority leader. Ayuba Labaran Durum is now the Majority Whip.


That was as Rirum said the crisis was now ended as no winner, no vanquished. Phenomenon. He appealed to the remaining aggrieved members that have not got any position in the new leadership arrangement of the house to accept what had happens in good faith

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





%d bloggers like this: